Dream a Little Dream

Can you remember what you wanted to be when you “grew up”? Did you have a dream or hope that stirred you and even thrilled you? Was there someone who inspired you? I’m beginning to think that those childish dreams that helped us make sense of the world around us are really a part of who we are meant to be. As children we were unfiltered in our likes and dislikes.

The only problem is that we grew up…

No longer are we blessed with the capacity to hope no matter what–to imagine something amazing is just around the corner and let it grow into a dream. Life has taught us that dreams die or are stolen, dreams can’t come true, don’t live with your head in the clouds…and yet…we all still have dreams….boywalkingdream

The dream of a good marriage (or at least one that lasts),

an amazing career,

adventures unlimited,

fame,

inventor of something really cool,

beautiful, healthy, obedient children,

a nice house,

a really great car,

lots of friends,

a renown artist,

a talented singer/musician,

a great poet,

renown speaker,

the best ________ ever,

& the list goes on…

 

So my question is when did we stop dreaming?

Have we let it all go in the harsh light of reality, a.k.a adulthood?

My mom wanted to be a teacher but an unplanned pregnancy back in the early 60’s put that dream on hold. She  got married, had three kids but started her own daycare years later and loved and taught dozens and dozens of kids before she retired after 20+ years. She never gave up on the dream–it just happened differently than she thought.

Sometimes our dreams can and will take a different form…and that’s okay. What is sad is when we have given up altogether.

What dream can you revive and dust off. It doesn’t matter if no one understands or agrees–it’s your dream.dreamagainpink.jpg

I will never in all probability be a famous singer but I like karaoke, singing in church, joining a choir/singing group or just singing loudly to my favorite songs on the radio. I know every word the The Sound of Music soundtrack…just ask my kids.

I may not drive a really great car but I can go to car shows and appreciate those who do.

I don’t know if I will attain literary success but I will keep writing and sharing because it is a part of who I am.

I may not have grand adventures but I can have small ones.

Please hear me I am not advocating giving up on your dream and settling for a smaller version. I am saying that if you have “missed” or lost your dream then look for ways to find a version of it again.

Can we be brave enough to follow a version of our dream or even go for the big one??

Don’t let fear stop you. It takes courage to have hope and courage to dream again.

Two of my favorite quotes about overcoming fear are:

1.“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” Christopher Robin to Pooh

2. “To die will be an awfully big adventure.”
― J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

It’s okay to fail just don’t let the fear of it overwhelm your sense of adventure.  Success can be built on failure. It’s okay to change your mind and go for a different dream.Sometimes our dreams really do change and that’s okay, too.

What is not okay is a life without hopes and dreams.

Let your heart hope and dream again. Infuse your dream with hope. Dreams need hope to grow and hope needs dreams to fill it with purpose. A dream is a seed of hope. seed-planting

Remember our definition of hope;

Websters 1828 dictionary defines hope as:  (boldness in definition added by me)

“(noun.)  a desire of some good with at least a slight expectation of obtaining it, or a belief that it is obtainable. Hope differs from wish and desire in this, that it implies some expectation of obtaining the good desired, or the possibility of possessing it.  Hope therefore always gives pleasure or joy; whereas wish and desire may produce or be accompanied with pain and anxiety.”

“(verb.) to cherish a desire of good, with some expectation of obtaining it, or a belief that it is obtainable. To place confidence in; to trust in with confident expectation of good.

I love the wording in this definition: expectation (same root word as pregnant), obtainable, possibility, pleasure, joy, confidence and trust.  Can we ever have enough of these things in our lives? It’s time to start dreaming again.

Check out this printable page if, like me, you need something in front of you….

http://4mykiddos.blogspot.com/2014/10/vision-statement-printables.html

 

My-Dream-Planning-Worksheet-thumbnail

And dream a little dream…or two.

 

Some dreams are bigger than others.

Some dreams just won’t go away,

Some dreams seem impossible,

Some dreams take my breath away.

Some dreams seem too wonderful.

Some dreams may never be.

Some dreams are worth the work,

so I’ll dream a little dream for me. HM

 

Heidi Mull, daring to dream, & dreaming daring dreams.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

