More precious than gold…

What is more precious than gold but can’t be bought, earned, saved or sold?

This thing all things devours:
Birds, beasts, trees, flowers;
Gnaws iron, bites steel;
Grinds hard stones to meal;
Slays king, ruins town
And beats high mountain down.

Answer: TIME.

We are wrapping up our theme of reflection. Reflection being the art of examining our life–its bits and pieces—in order to gain perspective. One of the enemies of reflecting is time. Time demands our attention with each tick and stirs us to ceaseless restlessness with each responding tock.

Very much like the White Rabbit in Alice in Wonderland, I find myself pushing through what I am doing now all the while planning what is next, then next after that.

Busyness is a cruel taskmaster and a wicked despot. In our journey for a more hope-full life we must learn the value of our time.

Time is either our master or we are the master of our time.

I am often caught unaware of what day of the week it is–not what month or what time but what day it is. When this happens too often I know that I have lost dominion over my time.

Three ways that can help me with my time:

  1. Write everything down on a big calendar and hang it where I can see it every morning.
  2. Schedule gaps into my days and weeks.
  3. Say “No” to my friends, family, spouse and kids.

Keeping myself on track and somewhat organized can help me to set an easier pace or to know how to pace myself on busier days to make it easier on me. Remembering to allow some space or gaps in my schedule is crucial. Time will eat up whatever you feed it–it is a glutton. By putting gaps in my schedule, I am putting time on a fast and using time:

to be healthier and exercise,

to feed my soul and read a book

to sit down and enjoy a meal,

to visit with a friend,

to take a walk and reflect,

to spend some much needed time with my family.

Time is really all we have to give. Stuff burns up, money is spent, and all that glitters isn’t gold.

Having said that, it is important to remember that No is not a bad word. I can’t be all things to all people all the time nor should I try. I am only me–a wife who loves her husband but can’t always be queen of the kitchen; a Mom to my almost grown children who must learn to stand on their own and begin to make wise choices; Gi Gi to my grandson…well, No doesn’t apply to grandchildren. I am a good friend, helpful daughter, etc. but I am okay with saying no. It gets easier and I am a better person when I do otherwise I may find myself in need of a time out.

How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives–Annie Dillard

Teach us to number our days that we may gain a heart of wisdom–Psalms 90:12

Time is really the only capital that any human being has, and the thing he can’t afford to lose.–Thomas Edison.

Heidi Mull, talking time, taking time, and treasuring time.

Leave a Reply

