Collections of reflections…

Welcome to August.

I hope you have collected some good memories throughout this summer–I have enjoyed most of mine.

We will continue with our journey of intentionally crafting a more HOPE-full life by tackling the art of reflection.

Reflection is defined as serious thought or consideration. Reflection is a powerful tool to learn in order to gather ideas and memories to sustain and guide us into a place of hope.

Theme: the Art of Reflection

August to me is a transitional  month. It’s the signal that the end of summer is near. I see school supplies in the store and school clothing on display. For teachers, students and bus drivers, it’s time to turn thoughts and energies to the start of a new year.  August is a good time to reassess, reflect and re-plan my goals, dreams, and life.

How did my summer go?

Did I get to visit with the people I wanted to?

How about my summer projects–indoor or outdoor–where am I with those?

What do I hope to accomplish in the next few months?

What I like to do is to collect good memories of the summer…a memory-collage of sorts. This helps me to let go of what didn’t happen or didn’t turn out like I’d planned and to recall the good memories and to focus on the positive.

The unexamined life is not worth living-Plato.

Sometimes it is easy to get carried along with the flow of life–to just get up and go about our days without stopping to examine both what is previous and what is up ahead. I am a big believer in living in the moment and with being present for today but I agree with Plato that an unexamined life is not worth living. Some people don’t bother with the examining until it’s too late for a course correction or even radical change of direction. The changing of the seasons is a good time to review where I am in life and how I got here…and to ask myself some questions:

What are some of the good things that have happened? (my calendar, journal, and family are helpful for this)

What are some of the bad things that have happened? (these usually come  to mind easier)

Have I made any progress in the areas of my life that I wanted to work on? (if yes then what’s next–if no then why not)

Am I making the baby steps necessary to move me towards a more HOPE-full life? (where am I progressing?)

What do I need to do differently, to drop or to continue in order to stay on target? (what are my top goals?)

What am I looking forward to and how can I start to work toward that goal? (don’t be afraid to dream big)

Let’s focus on being absolutely intentional.

Being INTENTIONAL is…

making purposeful progress

toward big goals

by taking small, consistent steps to get there.

While floating along seems to be a great idea for a summer dip in the pool–it is NOT a great idea for life.

Craft (or visual aid for the non-crafty people)

A collage is what’s in store for us this month. By definition a collage is:

 A piece of art made by sticking various & different materials such as photographs and pieces of paper or fabric onto a backing;  a combination or collection of various things.

Here are some ideas:

1.Find items relating to a particular event or theme and combine them in order to frame or arrange for display…

artcollage Don’t over think it and don’t worry about how it will look…just pick things that are good memories from the summer. Leave a spot or two for August’s stuff.

Michael’s, Target, Wal-mart, and other craft frame stores offer “collage frames”. This makes for an easy and quick presentation. You can use glue or tape to attach stuff together so you can change it out, or add to it as needed.

picturecollage

Here are a few other frame ideas:

travelcollagemichaelscollageframe

2. Big letters are everywhere and are fun to paint, cover and decorate:

http://www.diynetwork.com/how-to/make-and-decorate/crafts/how-to-make-a-photo-collage-on-a-big-letter?soc=pinterest

lettercollage

pinklettercollage

3.This is a fun and easy craft with lots of potential for unique expression:

http://www.lovethispic.com/image/18920/diy-picture-frames

Add a little colored-paper and paint for a great design.

DIY-Clothespin-Picture-Frame-thumbnail

Although there are pictures used in most of these examples, don’t limit yourself to photos. You can use tickets, cards, scrapbook paper or embellishments, receipts, book pages, maps, cloth, etc…

And finally, here is the most basic collage idea…

glassdish

Find an interesting container and put your stuff in it to display on bureau or shelf.

ceramic_bowl

pottery-flower-bowl-1607

Have fun. Collect the good memories. Spend some time in reflection.

Heidi Mull, collecting, reflecting, and inspecting on my way to a more HOPE-full life.

Leave a Reply

