Good Vibrations

We are all about sound this month. Sound has a huge impact on us and our lives. Ask anyone one who lives near a construction zone, a pub/bar, amusement park or a river or waterfall.

We have a neighbor–not too close–who hosts a concert on his property every year towards the end of the summer. We get to sit outside and enjoy it but I am glad it’s not an everyday occurrence.

We are exploring the impact of sound on our journey of hope.

Have you ever considered how the sounds around you influence you? How about the level of noise we live with? Noise and video everywhere- ugh. I sometimes feel like the Grinch Grinch-Smile-GIF-the-grinch-27844611-500-363 in How the Grinch Stole Christmas–“Oh the noise, noise, Noise, NOISE!”

That is the negative effect of sound. The positive side? I love the access to music that we have: Itunes, Spotify, IHeartradio, Pandora, Youtube, and much more.

There is so much to talk about, however, we are going to jump in with the biggest issue of sound that we all struggle with: the voices in our heads.

So what thoughts are you listening to? What do they say to you? Do you have a filter?

It is true that our thoughts lead us. Think about something sad for a few minutes and your world is colored by that thought and resulting feeling. How about a frustrating situation? Think about how frustrating it is and feel yourself getting tense.

For a life that is more HOPE-full, we must take our thoughts captive. Those thoughts or ‘voices’ in our heads–they aren’t always the truth nor do we have to accept them or act upon them. We can install our own filter system. And we must–if we are to move forward in our lives. to grow. Change is in our hands…or heads.

Take a walk with me not into the past…deguisements-de-hippies-baba-cool_201018

but into the present where science is validating some ideas that were considered rather hokey…

First, let me be very clear–I am not a scientist nor do I claim to be. I am just me. I read and try to assimilate the information into something that may be useful on a day-to-day level.

I came across some research about sound vibrations in the form of the thoughts we think, the words we say, the emotions we feel and how they affect our bodies-literally- in a scientifically measurable way in our cells. As I looked into this I discovered that past and current research in biology and psychology both agreed in principle: thoughts, feelings, and words carry energy. This energy affects our bodies on a cellular level.

 

“What you think about you bring about.”

 

                         “As a man thinks in his heart so is he.”

 

                                                            “Whether you think you can or you think you can’t…you are right.”

 

Positive thoughts, feelings, words = positive energy or vibrations.

Stay with me–I promise I haven’t slipped into the twilight zone and put my love beads on.  lovebeads

I am not talking about existential concepts–I think therefore I am. No chubby golden statues hidden in my closet. Just some research that backs up what, I believe, we understand instinctively–energy feeds on energy. So whether it’s positive or negative energy–we feed and grow. And there is the natural law of the universe that says you reap what you sow. So…

What are you sowing with your thoughts, feelings and words?

Like Neo, in The Matrix movie, stopping bullets matrix-neo-ammunition-reactivation-bullet-97440 or bending spoons Neo-the-matrix-6856074-450-338 –this is powerful stuff.

Have you ever seen the old Disney movie Pollyanna?  (I hear some groans out there). The ‘glad game’ that she played is an example of this concept on a basic level. If you haven’t seen it, I invite you to watch it just for that purpose.

 

What energy vibrations are you giving and receiving?

1. Take your thoughts captive by being aware of just WHAT you are thinking–Your thoughts WILL lead you.

2.Watch the words that you say and the words of others that you receive–they are seeds. When I don’t want to ‘pick up’ what I am thinking or what someone else is ‘laying down’ with their words, I say to myself…I don’t receive that.

3. Guard your heart-be aware of your emotions: don’t deny them and don’t let them control you. This is probably the trickiest. I wake up sad some days and trying to deny those feelings and just keep going is like trying to go on with an un-set broken arm. So I have learned to acknowledge my feelings and know that I may need some time today to process what ever is in there. I have had some loss and am still grieving. When I don’t acknowledge my feelings, I manifest physical symptoms: stomach problems, chest pain, joint aches. The energy of my grief is stored until I have learned to passed it through me by not denying it nor letting it stay and define me. This works with other negative feelings which all have their root in some action or energy around us. Anger, for example, has its roots in hurt and pain.

Whew. If your are still with me, I applaud your perseverance. This is wonderful news. We can grow a more hope-full and positive life by just this concept alone but like any other new skill it is a process of learning so be patient and diligent.

I have a key word that is spoken often in a different way but I use it to remind myself of the power of positive thinking, speaking and feeling. It is the word ‘whatever’. Whenever I hear it or think it, I know it’s a good time to do an energy check up. This is based on what a wise man once wrote:

Whatever is..

true,

noble,

just,

pure,

lovely,

of good report,

virtuous,

 & praiseworthy-

meditate(think) on these things.

The Bible, Philippians 4:8

Heidi Mull, picking up some good vibrations and looking for all kinds of Whatever.

Leave a Reply

