The EYES have it.

We are coming up on being halfway through our year of intentionally creating a more ‘hope-full’ life. It has been a privilege for me to share my heart and to hear back from you about your struggles and your heart. I hope that in some small way I have been able to encourage you in crafting a bit of hope in your life.

Here’s where we’ve been:

January: Intro to hope; “Hope is the thing with feathers” and a bird-type craft/purchase

February: Hope’s connection to scents/smells and a sachet craft or scent purchase

March: What does hope look like and a photo/frame craft or purchase

April: Sharing comfort=sharing hope and a comfort craft/purchase to share

May: Intentionally crafting hope requires cultivating patience and growing/planting something

And now to the beautiful month of June…

THOUGHT

This month we are going to celebrate the power of beauty and the joy it can bring.

Joy is the power boost to a sustaining and sustainable hope. Hope and joy?? We can be joyful in hope. Do you remember the definition of hope?

Websters 1828 dictionary defines hope as:  (boldness in definition added by me)

“(noun.)  a desire of some good with at least a slight expectation of obtaining it, or a belief that it is obtainable. Hope differs from wish and desire in this, that it implies some expectation of obtaining the good desired, or the possibility of possessing it.  Hope therefore always gives pleasure or joy; whereas wish and desire may produce or be accompanied with pain and anxiety.”

“(verb.) to cherish a desire of good, with some expectation of obtaining it, or a belief that it is obtainable. To place confidence in; to trust in with confident expectation of good.

Hope says I’m not stopping here. This is not where it ends.

**It is important to remember that while we can hope for better relationships we can’t control anyone else. We can only control our attitudes and our responses and allow hope to make room for the possibility of positive changes.

We are going to take a look at the power of beauty and the joy it brings as a way to not get overwhelmed by the ugliness of life.

Beauty comes in all forms.

For my husband, it is a freshly mowed lawn or a well-preserved muscle car, preferably from the late 60s/early 70s.

For my Dad, it is a picture of my Mom who is now in heaven.

For my cousin Ron, it is a picture of the mountains. For some, it is the sunrise OR the sunset.

My sister loves the beach. My neighbor–her flower garden. My son finds beauty in different types of guns. Other friends find beauty in horses, peacocks, Asian art, etc.

We know it when we see it because it grabs our souls and lifts us up.

Beauty brings joy as it reminds us that there is more to life than just challenging situations, troubling problems, struggling relationships and while some beauty is temporary so are these things.  I can choose to look for the beauty in the people and things around me and to derive strength and joy from them and continue on the journey to create a hope-full life.

CRAFT:

It’s time to welcome beauty into our lives so this month we will be creating/crafting a beautiful sign for our door, bedroom door, entryway wall or in the bathroom above the toilet.

Here are a few ideas but, as always, do what works for you.

This is a great place to see all of the possibilities:

http://www.homestoriesatoz.com/decorating/36-creative-front-door-decor-ideas-not-a-wreath.html

Spring-door-decor-ideas  Monogram-door-decor-ideas Chalkboard-font-door-decor-ideas.jpg Door-decor-using-picture-frames.-Picture-frame-wreath wood-door-decor.jpg

 After all…beauty is in the EYES of the beholder.

Heidi Mull, eyeing my front door while scanning the horizon for beautiful things to behold.

2 thoughts on “The EYES have it.

  1. I love this, Heidi! You have a gift for words & encouragement. I was thinking of re-doing my front door. Now I have reason – reminder for beauty, hope & joy. Just so know, I usually read your blog and leave it on my computer for another read or two. Just so I can absorb the message. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

