In the bleak mid-winter…

 

There is a saying–“Nothing lasts forever”. It’s mostly used in the negative as in “don’t count on it”,” don’t get your hopes up”, or ” I told you it wouldn’t work out” because…nothing lasts forever.

Negativity really bothers me.

I mean, I know that things don’t always work out and disappointments happen. I am 40+ years old, 20 years married with 5 kids so I get the ups and downs of life–I really do. I have cried my share of tears, broken my own weight in mugs/plates/random dishes and lamented about the point of it all.

If I have learned one thing it’s this: nothing lasts forever. Yay!

Nothing lasts forever!! There have been so many things that I thought would be the end of me and life as I know it:

a really, really rough patch in my marriage (okay several),

unemployment,

broken friendship,

the flu/fever making its rounds(one family member at a time),

washer/dryer/fridge/? on the fritz,

teenager rebelling,

injury resulting in permanent disability,

parent dying.

 

And yet I have survived to fight…and to hope another day BECAUSE… “Nothing Lasts Forever”.

 

In the bleak mid-winter

frosty wind made moan,

earth stood hard as iron,

water like a stone;

snow had fallen; snow on snow,

snow on snow,

in the bleak mid-winter

long ago.

-Christina Rossetti

In the bleak mid-winter of whatever and wherever you are hold fast to hope. Spring always follows winter. Today will be tomorrow and now will be “long ago“.  You will wake up one day and find yourself on the other side of THIS.

Meanwhile a few tips to help get through,

bundle up (keep your heart warm),

sip plenty of  your favorite hot drink (seek support and the comfort of friends),

and know (have hope) that just underneath the snow spring is waiting because it knows nothing lasts forever–not even a bleak mid-winter.

 

Heidi Mull, wrapped in my favorite pink scarf,

sipping hot vanilla-mint tea

and looking out my window to where the daffodils will bloom…soon.

6 thoughts on “In the bleak mid-winter…

  1. Heidi – This is my favorite I’ve read so far. The truth is that in the midst of difficult times it DOES feel never-ending, but also that nothing lasts forever. Thank you so much for reminding us of that!!! ~ Alicia

Leave a Reply

